The Liquid Circus
  Home Calendar Pro Standings Archives Videos Contact  

Bob Soven Takes his First Ever PWT Victory

Andrew Atkison 2nd and Oliver Derome 3rd

Bob Soven, Daniel Powers win First PWT in Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, Colo. – Fans lined the shores of Memorial Park today to catch the final rounds of action at the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour stop in Colorado Springs. Riders in the Pro Men and Jr. Pro Men division spent the day battling it out on the water behind the MasterCraft X-Star in hopes of winning the fourth stop of the 2010 season.
The pros kicked off the day with their quarterfinal round of action, where 20 riders hit the water in five heats of four to battle for a spot in the semifinals. Only the top two pros from each heat advanced, cutting the field of riders in half and creating some massive upsets in the process, as top seeds Rusty Malinoski (#2) and Austin Hair (#4) both failed to advance past the quarterfinals.
In the semifinals, the Aussies paved the way, as former Australia Pro Tour champs Dean Smith and Harley Clifford each won their respective heats. Brothers Phillip and Bob Soven also advanced to the six-man final, along with Olivier Derome and Andrew Adkison.
In the final round of action, all eyes were on Tour leader Phillip Soven, but younger brother Bob Soven came from behind to take the win. Adkison and Derome rounded out the podium, respectively.
“I’ve been waiting for this moment for while,” said Bob Soven. “I got to give it up to my competition, they’re all amazing, but I’m stoked to come out with the win.”
Today’s victory marks Bob Soven’s first Pro Tour win in the Pro Men’s division.

Though older brother Phillip didn’t win today, he remains the points leader in the standings at 345 points. Clifford trails in second place at 330 points, while Rusty Malinoski rounds out the top three with 246 points.
Following the Pro Men’s finals today, the Pro Tour went right into the Indmar Double Up contest where Rusty Malinoski was declared the winner.
Next, the Pro Tour hosted its Rockstar Energy Drink Big-Air Challenge where Bob Soven took top honors.
Malinoski and Soven each took home $1,000 for winning their respective events.
In the Jr. Pro Men division, 10 top amateur rippers hit the water in two heats of five for their semifinal round of action. With only the top two riders from each heat advancing, the field of riders was quickly narrowed down to Kyle Evans, Daniel Powers, Raphael Derome and current Tour leader Nick Galotifore for the four-man final.
All four rippers laid down some serious runs, but Powers proved to be unstoppable to win his first Jr. Pro Tour stop. Galotifore and Derome rounded out the Jr. Pro Men podium, respectively.
Powers’ win now places him second overall in the standings with 340 points. Nick Galotifore remains the Tour leader with 370 points, while Steel Lafferty rounds out the top three with 310 points.
With Colorado Springs in the books, the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour will now head to its final stop of the 2010 season in Knoxville, Tenn., Aug. 13-14. Other venues included Acworth, Ga., Fort Worth, Tex. and Elizabethtown, Ky.
To catch all the high-flying, rail-sliding, water-sports action of the Colorado Springs Pro Tour stop on television, tune in to FUEL TV on Sept. 21 at 8 p.m. EST.
For more information on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, including news, daily schedules, tickets, TV info, photos, videos, athlete bios, results, standings and more, visit


Fuel TV Airs Wake Awards
World Champs to Air on Fuel TV
Pro Wake Tour Finals on Fuel TV
12th Annual INT US Champs
Miss Transworld Modeling Contest
Nautique Announces New DIrect Dealer Distribution for Australia